CMN E-mail | Netstorage | Off-campus Intranet Access | Plato | Sendio | WebStudy | Cinahl, JSTOR, Lexis Nexus
College of Menominee Nation
Contact UsApplyMyEmpower
Food Sovereignty

Food Sovereignty

Food Safety - ServSafe






ServSafe brings together current best practices in food safety, as well as current best practices for instruction to meet the industry’s changing needs. Applicants who attend will stay engaged with activities scheduled in the agenda, retain information better and understand how to apply it in their jobs, and will better protect the general public from food borne illnesses.


The ServSafe Manager Certification and Food Handler Certificate focuses on five aspects of food service that can affect the safety of food: (1) Foodborne Microorganisms & Allergens, (2) Personal Hygiene, (3) Purchasing, Receiving and Storage, (4) Preparation, Cooking and Serving, (5) Facilities, Cleaning/Sanitizing and Pest Management. For more information on both programs look under the register now section.







ServSafe Manager Certification is the official program of the National Restaurant Association, ANSI Accredited, recognized nationwide and valid for five years. In order to receive a certification an applicant must successfully pass the exam with a minimum 75% score. This is obtained by answering at least 60 out of 80 questions correctly. The exam has 90 questions; however there are 10 pilot questions that are for research purposes only. Certification fulfills the Food Law requirement that one manager per food establishment has completed a Food Safety Certification Course.


The ServSafe Food Handler Certificate verifies basic food safety knowledge and is for individuals in food handler employee-level positions. The National Restaurant Association recognizes the ServSafe certification as valid for three years. In order to receive a certification an applicant must successfully pass the exam with a minimum 75% score. This is obtained by answering at least 30 out of 40 questions correctly.


Instructor Led & Test
Test Only
Instructor Led & Test

*ID required to take test





Prices are based on structure fees, cost of certification and availability of resources.


The ServSafe Manager exam and Food Handler assessment must be administered by a ServSafe Registered Proctor.


An examinee may take the examination twice within a thirty day period, if necessary. If a third attempt is required, the examinee must wait at least sixty days from their last attempt. Additional fees apply.






The Department of Continuing Education at CMN serves as a catalyst for positive change in the community by providing training and educational opportunities using the circle of life (cradle to grave) model, which equips and empowers the community to take ownership and responsibility to improve their lives and solve their own individual problems in a manner that builds and strengthens individual self-esteem and pride. One way this is accomplished by providing non-credit workshops with qualified instructors.


The National Restaurant Association's ServSafe Food Safety training program is widely recognized and respected in the foodservice industry. Here's why.

  • Uses quality materials and exams created by foodservice and regulatory experts exclusively for the foodservice industry
  • Reinvests proceeds from programs back into the industry
  • A single source, one-stop show for both food safety training and the certification examination
  • Delivers up-to-date regulatory information
  • Provides support from foodservice subject matter experts available to answer questions
  • Offers flexible online, classroom, in-unit and one-on-one training and examination options