CMN E-mail | Canvas | MyEmpower | Sendio | Netstorage | Off-campus Intranet Access | JSTOR | ProQuest
College of Menominee Nation
Contact UsApplyMyEmpower

About CMN


News and Events

College’s Library Is Named in Honor of S. Verna Fowler

KESHENA, WI – Bernard (Ben) Kaquatosh, Chairman of the College of Menominee Nation Board of Directors, has announced the naming of the College’s academic library in honor of S. Verna Fowler, Ph.D. Dr. Fowler is the founding President of CMN, an accredited institution awarding baccalaureate and associate degrees and technical/trades diplomas.


“The naming of a building is a singular event in the life of a college,” said Kaquatosh. “We are pleased to have President Fowler’s name join those of the late Glen Miller and Shirley Daly, two other respected Menominee leaders who have buildings named for them at the College of Menominee Nation.


“These three people were instrumental in bringing the College of Menominee Nation into existence, and Dr. Fowler has been the chief architect and guiding spirit since her first day on the job in September 1992. She started CMN with a small staff and a few dozen students in rented facilities and loaned space that included her own home.”


Today, CMN serves 700 students each semester the main campus in Keshena and an urban campus is in Green Bay. The College currently operates with a budget exceeding $20 million. The library opened in 2008 with 18,600-square-feet of space for stacks, classrooms and archives on three levels. Holdings including books, journals, media material and documents currently total about 21,000 items.


Kaquatosh noted that while the 20th anniversary of her hiring served is the occasion for the naming, “the Board’s decision was inspired by Dr. Fowler’s unfailing vision as an educator, dedication to serving the Menominee People and their neighbors, and talent for overcoming obstacles and achieving goals”. He added that the President’s character, national reputation, and high level of service to CMN and education at all levels, are the qualities that make her an appropriate recipient of this honor.


“This month begins President Fowler’s third decade of service,” Kaquatosh said. “In 2013, we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the College’s opening. Together, these milestones make this the right time to recognize all that President Fowler has accomplished in the past and to herald all that we know she has planned for the future of our College.”


Serving with Kaquatosh on the CMN Board of Directors are Virginia Nuske, Lori Latender Corn, Sarah Harkey, Georgianna Ignace, Lynnette Miller and Elaine Peters. Ada Deer is an honorary member.