CMN E-mail | Canvas | MyEmpower | Sendio | Netstorage | Off-campus Intranet Access | JSTOR | ProQuest
College of Menominee Nation
Contact UsApplyMyEmpower

About CMN


News and Events

College of Menominee Nation
Graduates 80 State Residents


Commencement 2017
See the photo gallery

Watch graduate Lloyd J. Frieson, Jr. address the graduating class

Residents of 26 Wisconsin communities, including members of nine American Indian tribes, received academic degrees and technical diplomas in College of Menominee Nation ceremonies held on Saturday, May 27, in Keshena.


The College invited its recently retired founding President, S. Verna Fowler, Ph.D., to present the guest address, and baccalaureate degree graduate, Lloyd J. Frieson, Jr., to speak on behalf of the Class of 2017. Both reside in Keshena.


Saturday ceremonies also honored Dennis Vickers, Ph.D., who was named the American Indian College Fund Faculty Member of the Year. Vickers, who teaches in the College’s Humanities program, holds Philosophy degrees from the University of Texas (Ph.D.), Bowling Green University (M.A.), and University of Wyoming (B.A.). A resident of White Lake, he has served on the CMN faculty since 2006.


The graduates, listed by major and hometown, are.


Bachelor of Arts


Public Administration: Melinda L. Cook, high honors, Shawano, and Lloyd J. Frieson, Jr., Keshena.


Bachelor of Science

Business Administration: Sally Florence Hill, honors, Seymour, and George V. Otradovec, honors, Suring.


Early Childhood/Middle Childhood Education: Lucille Rosemary Burr, honors, Bowler, and Benjamin R. Smith, high honors, Gresham.


Associate of Applied Science


Nursing: Christine Ann Van Dahm, Appleton; Sally Ellen Kauth and Sara M. Krueger, both Clintonville; Cassie Lynn Petersen, honors, De Pere; Pamela J. Sporleder, Gillett; Liza DeCora and Ashley A. Tomschin, both Green Bay; Audra Elizabeth Demmith, Mountain; Laura Reis, Seymour, and Jill Seefeldt, Wild Rose.


Pre-Engineering Technology: Sarah Brei, Gresham, and Chelsey Alane LaTender, Keshena.


Associate of Arts and Sciences


Accounting: Cassandra Lynn Simono, Gillett; Brady Ann Moreno and Brian Lee Moreno, both Green Bay; ChristaLee Ann Waupoose, honors, Keshena, and Linda Sue Kaquatosh, Shawano.


Biological and Physical Sciences: Mia Sue Haberl, Shawano.


Business Administration: Tyrone Joseph Barber, De Pere; Kayeloni Raye Heczko, honors, Dylana Kay Kinepoway, honors, Frances Joy Reiter, high honors, and Rayna Ann Tucker, all Keshena, and Alicia J. Mraz, honors, and Kayla Rusch, both Shawano.


Computer Science: Randi R. Grant, Bowler.


Early Childhood Education: Nikole L. Webster, Bowler; Carol A. Red Kettle and JayCee Rae Tourtillott, both Keshena; Chantel Lynne’ McLeod, honors, Oconto, and Jessica Lynn Close, Oneida, and Sara Jean Esch, Shawano.


Liberal Studies – Humanities: Melissa K. Besaw, Shawano.


Liberal Studies – Social Science: Gary M. Adams, Jr., Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Louis Scott Cottrell, Jamie F. Komanekin, Sheila Margaret Shawanokasic and Kyle Joseph Witt, all Green Bay; Courtney Nichole Behrendt, Jackson; Brittany Alice Hawpetoss, Keshena, and Barbara Marie Johnson, high honors, and Kelli Penfold, both Shawano.


Natural Resources: Adam Joseph Schulz, honors, Bowler; Alex J. Adamski, Kaylee Jean Houle, and Eric Nacotee, all Shawano, and Jamie L. Funmaker, Wittenberg.


Technical Diploma


Business Office Technician: Virgil S. Stevens, honors, De Pere; Lisa Marie Annamitta, Green Bay, and Rachel D. Corn, high honors, Keshena.

Electricity: Mequan Corn, Sr.; Corey J. Dixon, Jr., and Chance LaTender, all Keshena, and Justin J. Kriefall, high honors, Leopolis.


Practical Nursing: Laura R. Banuelos, Abrams; Odessa Lynn Clay, high honors, Bryant; Dylan Schroeder, Clintonville; Chelsea R. Kratky, De Pere; Matthew G. Safranski, honors, and Shellie Germaine Berg, both Green Bay; Ka Zoua K. Moua, Menasha; Ellie M. Van Riper, honors, New London; Catrina Ann Bhatty, Oneida; Elaine Jo Rusch, honors, Pulaski; Jerilyn Ann Shooter, Shawano; Lori Jean Nieves, honors, Shiocton, and Susan Leurquin, Suring.


Sustainable Residential Building Systems: Michael W. Matchopatow, Keshena.


Welding: Asa V. Doxtator, Bowler; Tyler Hoffman, honors, Clintonville; Bernard G. Doud, III, Neopit; David Bruce Pyatskowit, highest honors, Shawano, and Nicholas James Doud, honors, Wabeno.


Forty-seven of the 80 graduate are enrolled members or descendants of American Indian tribes. Represented in this year’s class are Chippewa, Comanche, Ho Chunk, Lac Courtes Oreille Ojibwa, Menominee, Mohican, Oneida, Standing Rock Sioux, and Stockbridge-Munsee.


The College of Menominee Nation is one of 37 federally-recognized tribal colleges in the United States. CMN is a baccalaureate-degree granting institution with campuses in Keshena and Green Bay. Since opening in 1993, it has awarded nearly 1,200 academic degrees and technical diplomas. CMN is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.