CMN E-mail | Canvas | MyEmpower | Sendio | Netstorage | Off-campus Intranet Access | JSTOR | ProQuest
College of Menominee Nation
Contact UsApplyMyEmpower

About CMN


News and Events

College of Menominee Nation Graduates 39 State Residents


Graduation 2018
View the photo gallery


Residents of 13 Wisconsin communities, including members of seven American Indian tribes, received academic degrees and technical diplomas in College of Menominee Nation ceremonies held on Saturday, May 26, in Keshena.


This year, the College invited Keshena’s current elected Tribal chairman, Douglas Cox, to present the guest address. Baccalaureate degree graduate, Sabrina Hemken, spoke on behalf of the Class of 2018. Cox resides in Keshena and Hemken resides in Gillett.


Ceremonies also honored Professor Vicki Besaw, M.A., who was named the American Indian College Fund Faculty Member of the Year. Besaw teaches Humanities and Liberal Studies courses including English, literature, creative writing and poetry. She holds a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Master of Arts in English from UW-Milwaukee, and is accepted for the First Nations Education Doctoral Program at UW-Green Bay. She is a member of the Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe. A resident of Shawano, she has served on the CMN faculty since 2006.


Participating in graduation ceremonies with other dignitaries were Dr. Paul Trebian and Michael Delabreau. Trebian became the College’s President on May 15. Delabreau is the newest member of CMN’s Board of Trustees.


The graduates, listed by major and hometown with academic honors noted, are:


Bachelor of Arts


Public Administration: Sabrina L. Hemken, honors, Gillet, Joyce Wayka, Keshena, and Jerilyn Marie Johnson, Bowler. Hemken also received an Associate Degree in Digital Media during the ceremonies.


Bachelor of Science


Business Administration: Louise M. Madosh, Keshena.


Early Childhood/Middle Childhood Education: Whitney K. Nitzske, high honors, Shawano.


Associate of Applied Science


Nursing: Rachel E. Huested, Wrightstown.


Pre-Environmental Engineering Technology: Travis James Spice, Bowler.


Associate of Arts and Sciences


Business Administration: Kode-Ray C. Adams, high honors, Gresham; Marla Bellanger, Keshena; Rickie Lee Dodge, Shawano; Christa L. Lyons, Keshena; Dulce Maria Moeller, Shawano; Adam Joseph Schulz, honors, Shawano; David Skenandore, honors, Oneida, and Francis K. Skenandore, Suamico.


Digital Media: Sabrina L. Hemken, honors, Gillett.


Early Childhood Education: Melinda R. Cree, Keshena; Leona A. Draghi, Keshena; Kasey Leigh Paiser, Waupaca; Theresa L. Smith, honors, Oneida, and Jordynne Nicolle Waupekenay, Shawano.


Liberal Studies – Humanities: Georgie D. Potts, honors, Keshena.


Liberal Studies – Social Science: Rhiannon M. Boyd, Oneida; Ravena M. Fowler, Cecil; Dallas M. Hawkins, Green Bay; Zachary John Skenandore, Green Bay, and Zachary Michael Wolterman, honors, Shawano.


Natural Resources: Lenayea R. Boyd, Gillett; Lacy Lee Dixon, Keshena; Zachary David Dobberstein, Shawano; Jamie L. Funmaker, Wittenberg; Denise A. Kasparzak, Keshena, and Catherine Ann Majer, Gresham.


Technical Diploma


Business Office Technician: Brittney J. Pamonicutt and Deneane Marie Wilber, both Keshena.

Electricity: James M. Cox and William Richard Waubananascum IV, both Keshena.


Welding: Anthony Dale Chevalier, high honors, and Brian Rashaun Waukau, both Keshena, and Austin William Kaquatosh, honors, Suring.


32 of the 39 graduates are enrolled members or descendants of American Indian tribes. Represented in this year’s class are Brotherton, Ho Chunk, Menominee, Oneida, Prairie Band of Potawatomi, Stockbridge, Stockbridge-Munsee, and Turtle Mountain Chippewa.


Brian Waukau is the first person to complete a CMN technical diploma in the same year as graduating from high school. He completed the College’s Welding program while finishing studies at Menominee Indian High School.


The College of Menominee Nation is one of 37 federally-recognized tribal colleges in the United States. CMN is a baccalaureate-degree institution with campuses in Keshena and Green Bay. Since opening in 1993, it has awarded nearly 1,180 academic degrees and technical diplomas. CMN is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.